top of page

The Essentials: Affordable & Effective Skincare Routine

Updated: Apr 16, 2020

As mentioned in my previous skincare post, I am in college, so affordable and effective skincare is a must for me. The following post includes my daily skincare routine with my go-to, affordable products, as well as a few tips to increase your overall skin health. Enjoy! 



a.m. Skincare Arsenal 

Morning Routine

  1. Cleanser

  2. Serum

  3. Eye Cream

  4. Moisturizer


This cleanser is an innovative jelly cleanser that removes all traces of excess oil, pollution, and any other grime, leaving the skin clean and soft. I recently added this product to my skincare arsenal, and it has worked wonders for my skin. I use a pea-sized drop of the product and it leaves my skin feeling fresh, smooth, and incredibly soft. I would highly recommend introducing this product into your daily routine. An added bonus, it lasts months - literally months, no exaggeration. 


I am obsessed with this serum. It contains natural Vitamin C and E, which are both known to provide radiance and protect the skin from environmental factors. Another active ingredient includes natural peptides from marine algae, which is known for its tightening effect. This serum instantly hydrates, increases radiance, and firms the skin. To use, I apply to my face and neck.


I recently introduced eye cream into my daily skincare routine. This product includes caffeine, which depuffs eye contour; hyaluronic acid, to increase moisture retention and prevent dehydration; and mudar plant bark extract, which has anti-aging properties. To use, gently tap onto the eye contour (not too close to the eye itself) before applying a moisturizer. This eye cream is lightweight and leaves the skin feeling super hydrated.


I have been using this moisturizer for years, literally since middle school. It is proven to reduce the appearance of fine lines and wrinkles, as well as help improve dull, rough, and uneven skin. It contains Broad Spectrum SPF 15. Protecting your skin from the sun is SO important. SPF should be included in your daily morning routine in someway, and this is the easiest way for me to ensure my skin is protected for the day. 



p.m. Skincare Arsenal



Nighttime Routine

  1. Makeup Remover

  2. Cleanser

  3. Spot Treatment

  4. Hydrator or Serum (I used the hydrator before discovering the serum. Now, I use only the serum. The hydrator is a great choice if you are looking for a more affordable product)


I used to use Neutrogena makeup wipes to take off my make up for the day, however, I found the Micellar Cleansing Water last year and I absolutely love it. This is perfect for those with sensitive skin, as there is no fragrance and it is very mild compared to most makeup removers. I apply a small amount to a basic cotton round pad and rub all over my face until my makeup is removed. It thoroughly removes all of my makeup and leaves my skin refreshed. 


This product is best recommend for use at night, before bed, but I use it in both my morning and nighttime routines. See my a.m. routine above for the complete description.


I have been using this product for years and I swear by it. If I feel a breakout coming on or spot a pimple in its early stages, I dab a small amount of this spot treatment on before bed. When I wake up in the morning, the breakout is reduced or completely gone. It’s literally a miracle product. This spot treatment is great for early prevention and keeps my skin clear and blemish-free for the most part.


Last but not least, before bed I apply the Clinique Moisture Surge all over my face and neck. This is a refreshing gel-cream that provides an instant moisture boost. The advanced hydrator with Auto-Replenishing technology actually helps the skin create its own internal water source to continually rehydrate itself. It locks in all that moisture for an endlessly plump, dewy, and healthy-looking glow. Nothing is worse than waking up with dry skin, so this product leaves my skin feeling fresh and hydrated when I wake up in the morning. I purchased the 50 mL sized product and it has lasted me for well over 3 months now (with a fair amount of product remaining).


I first tested out this product in the Little version, and recently added the full size 30 mL product to my Christmas list (thank you, Santa). This product is on the pricier side, but trust me, it is so worth it. I promise it lives up to the hype.


It is a AHA/BHA night serum that refines and resurfaces skin to reveal a smoother and more radiant complexion. It enhances the performance of other products by clearing the way for maximum absorption - we love a team player. Say goodbye to fine lines, wrinkles, discoloration, excess oiliness, and the appearance of pores. I could go on and on about this product, and let me tell you it’s a must have. To apply, simply apply to a clean, dry face in a pea sized portion. This bottle will last you months.


If you are looking to save money, Drunk Elephant is currently selling a bundle of multiple products for almost the same price as the single, standalone T.L.C. Framboos. The set includes:


- 1 oz/ 30 mL T.L.C. Framboosâ„¢ Glycolic Resurfacing Night Serum - 0.27 oz/ 8 mL Virgin Marula Antioxidant Face Oil - 0.5 oz/ 15 mL Lala Retroâ„¢ Whipped Moisturizer with Ceramides - 1 oz/ 30 mL Besteâ„¢ No. 9 Jelly Cleanser - 0.16 oz/ 5 mL C-Tangoâ„¢ Multivitamin Eye Cream


Check it out here ($98).



Weekly Skincare Products

I use face masks 2-3 times a week. Face masks are a perfect way to sit back and relax, while benefiting your skin. There are over 10 different masks offered by Freeman, all offering a different purpose to the skin.A few of my favorite Freeman masks include the Dead Sea Minerals Facial Anti-Stress Mask, Rejuvenating Cucumber + Pink Salt Clay Mask, and Polishing Charcoal + Black Sugar Gel Mask + Scrub. Keep each mask on for 5-7 minutes and wash off with hot water and a clean wash cloth. These affordable face masks will leave your skin feeling as good as new.


If my skin is feeling dry, I use the Clinique’s Moisture Surge Overnight Mask in my nighttime skincare routine. This mask soothes and nourishes to help skin hold in moisture. You wake up with soft, dewy, and glowing skin. This mask is perfect for cold, winter climates.



Things I do on a daily basis to benefit my skin:

WATER. Aside from my daily cup of coffee, I only drink water. Increasing your water intake will have a positive impact on your overall skin health. 


COLLAGEN. Collagen is the support structure of our skin, it helps keep our skin smooth and healthy. I make sure to integrate a collagen supplement into my daily routine. I switch between using Vital Proteins Original Collagen Peptides and Vital Proteins Beauty Boost Capsules. The capsules are great if you are on-the-go!


EXERCISE. When you add exercise to your daily routine, the added blood, oxygen, and nutrient supply to the skin improves collagen production. Sweat puges the body of toxins within your skin that contribute to oils and debris congestion, which lead to breakouts. 


REDUCE SUGAR INTAKE. Now I am not telling you to completely cut out sugar, completing restricting yourself from something is not healthy. I have a huge sweet tooth myself, but cutting down on your sugar intake will have a positive reflection on your skin. Consuming too much sugar causes the inflammatory and blood-sugar-spiking processes that can result in acne. 


CUT OUT DAIRY. I personally consume little-no dairy and I have seen tangible results with my skin. While cutting back/out on dairy won’t solve a pimple problem single-handedly, it may make a difference for those who suffer severe breakouts. 


KEEP STRESS IN CHECK. I know this is a difficult thing to do for many, including myself, but stress takes a large toll on nearly every part of your body, including your skin. Stress increases the body’s production of hormones such as cortisol, which can make the skin oilier and decrease its ability to fight off acne-causing bacteria. A few stress-management techniques that help me manage my stress include: deep breathing, writing to-do lists, staying organized, yoga, and working out.


SLEEP. While you are sleeping, your skin’s repair mechanisms are hard at work. If you are not getting enough sleep at night, this adds stress on the body, causing it to release more hormones that trigger breakouts and lead to other skin problems. I ensure I get 7-8 hours of sleep per night, make this a priority for yourself.



This post is not sponsored. I am in no way a skincare expert, but these products and daily routine work for me. I hope you found this post beneficial to your skin's health :)


Xo, Emily

311 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page