top of page

quarantine chronicles: a very ordinary day in my life

Ladies and gentlemen, we have made it to week SEVEN of quarantine. 


I have seen a rare form of transparency surfacing through social media platforms (instagram, facebook, youtube). So in honor of this transparency, I will admit my quarantine has been anything but riveting. In fact, it's been quite the opposite. Here’s a little preview of an ordinary day in my life.


10am - wake up & lay in bed staring at my phone for a few too many minutes. Seriously don't even think about opening the tik tok app if you are planning on having a productive start to your day. I have been allowing myself to wake up naturally rather than setting an alarm...


10:30am - make coffee & write my to-do list and goals for the day. I am a huge stickler for routine, so doing this allows me to add a sense of control and normalcy to my not-so-normal days in quarantine. After I write out my to-do list, I then assign a timeline to my day to allow me to stay on track and have a productive day.


11am - make more coffee & cook bfast. My go-to bfast lately consists of some variation of avocado toast and eggs. Super yummy and filling.



12pm - go on a walk. I have been taking full advantage of the many trails that Pittsburgh has to offer. Today, I ran 2 miles to South Side and then walked about 3 miles around South Side's riverside trails and then back home. During my runs/walks, I love listening to podcasts. Episode 7 of 'Love That For You' was today's podcast of choice. My daily walk keeps me sane and allow me to destress and clear my head.




1:30pm - pre-workout snack. Today's snacks of choice were apples & peanut butter and "protein mush", which consists of a scoop of vanilla vital proteins whey protein, a few tablespoons of almond milk, and a tablespoon of Justin's vanilla almond butter. It's a yummy and simple way to integrate protein into your diet.


2pm - at-home workout. I have been trying to integrate strength training into my everyday routine, as I am really missing the gym. I recently subscribed to Cali Fuller's Home Based Program and have been loving this. She provides 5 workouts each week, targeting different muscle groups each day. Today was 'Back & Biceps' and I can shamelessly say I used old vodka bottles filled with water as my weights. It's all about compromise in quarantine...



3pm - lunch time. I had a late lunch today (very unlike me) and honestly had a modge podge of snacks - sliced turkey, veggies, hummus, crackers, cheese, and baby carrots.

 

??pm - this is where my day starts going astray because without work or school, there honestly isn’t much for me to do. I am sure this is relatable to most college students (or grads - RIP). In my "free time", I have been trying to get outside, work on administrative things for my blog, testing out new hobbies, watching Netflix/Hulu, and connecting with friends/family.


I forgot to keep track of the rest of my day, so we will change this to a morning/afternoon in my life :)


Remember to be especially kind to yourself during these times. Life is not normal, and that’s okay. Take this time to learn a new hobby, reflect on positive changes you want to see in your life, learn a new recipe, you name it... the time is yours. Take full advantage. Stay safe people!!




173 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page