top of page

Fashionista Ballin on a Budget?

Updated: Dec 11, 2019

Since coming to college, I quickly learned that my wallet could not keep up with my eye for trend. If you are in the same boat, check out the following tips below that I have for maintaining a closet full of fashion-forward outfits while ballin on a budget. 



THRIFTING

I was never into thrifting in high school. In fact, I refused to step foot in a second-hand shop. I just haaaaad to have everything new and nothing less than brand new would suffice for me.

Thrifting is a sustainable, smart way to shop for clothes. You are doing your wallet and the environment a favor. A few weeks ago on Black Friday, Goodwill was having a 50% off everything sale. So, I decided to take a peek in and I ended up picking up an amazing Brown Faux-Leather Croc Print jacket, Royal Blue and White Plaid Wide-Legged Pants, an Ugly Christmas Sweater, and a Black and Grey Cheetah Print Denim Jacket all for under $15. All of the items were in amazing condition and I was super excited to add these pieces to my winter wardrobe. Be sure to check out your local thrift store and grab yourself a few unique pieces!


A few of my other favorite thrifting spots include: 

  • Avalon Exchange 

  • Thriftique

  • Buffalo Exchange



RESALE APPS

I wish I would have known about these apps earlier, but now that I do, I can’t imagine life without them. Similarly to thrifting, resale platforms are a sustainable and easy way to recycle your wardrobe and to ensure you are able to stay up-to-date with current trends. I am an avid Poshmark buyer and seller. 


If I spot a pricier item that I want to purchase, I always make sure to check Poshmark and Mercari (another resale app) to see if anyone is selling the item I want in my size before purchasing directly from the brand itself for full retail price. These apps allow you to “Make an Offer” on seller’s items, so I always make a reasonable offer to the seller and they usually accept my offer. It’s great because I am getting brand-name, gently used or brand new items for up to 70% off of retail price.


In terms of selling, these apps make reselling your clothes quick, easy, and hassle-free. I simply snap a few pictures of my item, enter a description which includes sizing, color, brand name, original price, and sale price. I usually set my sale prices a little higher than what I would be willing to accept for the item, because buyers will make me an offer and I want the offer to be fair, therefore going with a skimming price strategy. Once someone purchases your item, you receive an email notification of your sale which includes a shipping label. I simply package the item up in a shipping envelope or box, attach the label, and put it in my mailbox. Poshmark is shipped via USPS, so you can put your package right in your mailbox (super convenient for a gal on the go). 


I absolutely cannot say enough good things about reselling apps. They have given me the financial freedom to purchase pricier and higher end items, with the reassurance that I will most likely make back most of the cost if I resell it on one of these apps after wearing it a few times.







SHOP OUT OF SEASON

This last trick is one that I learned from my dad at a very young age, shop out of season. Summer clothing items such as bikinis and sun hats go on sale in the Fall and Winter items like Ski Jackets and Beanies go on sale in the Spring. 


I know it’s hard to plan certain things ahead of time, but if you can play ahead of time, it will pay off (no pun intended). If you know you are going to need a puffer jacket for that 80’s in Aspen party, then start searching for it in the Spring. 



I hope that you found these few tips to ballin on a budget useful :)



Shameless plug: use code EMILYMATTYS for $10 off your first Poshmark purchase and this link for $10 off your first Mercari purchase :)



182 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page